FORT WORTH, TX - FEBRUARY 26: Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump speaks at a rally at the Fort Worth Convention Center on February 26, 2016 in Fort Worth, Texas. Trump is campaigning in Texas, days ahead of the Super Tuesday primary. (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images)

Protest group hopes to spark 4200 joints on Trump’s inauguration

120 could take 420 to a new high later this month.

American pro-legalization group DCMJ have announced plans to hand out 4,200 thousands joints on January 20 to mark the inauguration of incoming president Donald Trump while urging legalization at the federal level.

The invitation states:

You are cordially invited to join DCMJ for the inaugural #Trump420 taking place on January 20, 2017 in Washington, DC!

We will gather on the west side of Dupont Circle at 8am for coffee & tea and parade down to the National Mall at 10am. Along the way we’ll hand out 4,200 joints of legally grown cannabis!

The plan is to spark up the doobs at precisely four minutes and 20 seconds into Trump’s speech.


Recreational cannabis possession is legal in Dupont Circle under city law but not federal, and the protest will have to balance conflicting laws. Cannabis currently remains listed as a DEA Schedule 1 drug, along with LSD and cocaine, at the federal level.

In February 2015, the District of Columbia passed Initiative 71 which allowed legal possession of small amounts of cannabis with certain restrictions. Anyone 21 and older can possess two ounces or less of pot and use it on private property, but since a significant amount of DC is on federal land, the laws surrounding possession are in unchartered territory.

Although eight states voted to legalize recreational or medical cannabis in the Nov. 8 federal election, bringing the nationwide total of medical states to 29, Trump has nominated Senator Jeff Sessions for attorney general, a man with a long and antagonistic attitude toward cannabis use.

Sessions, 70, has called marijuana reform a “tragic mistake” and criticized FBI Director James Comey and Attorneys General Eric Holder and Loretta Lynch for not vigorously enforcing federal prohibition.